نص الكلمة
سيدي الرئيس،،
سيدتي المفوضة السامية،،
أصحاب السعادة،،
الحضور الكرام،،

نحن هنا اليوم للتأكيد مجددا على التزام مملكة البحرين بالقضية العالمية لحقوق الإنسان ولتجديد التزامنا أيضا بالمجلس ، وقد أيدت حكومتي استمرارها في التمسك بالتزاماتها من خلال جهودها المستمرة والهادفة إلى تأصيل مجتمع بحريني تعددي – ومن خلال التعاون مع هذا المجلس الموقر، تشاطر حكومة بلادي المفوضة السامية رؤيتها حول ضمان حقوق الإنسان للجميع، حيث نرحب بمشاركة كل طرف لديه مصلحة في ذلك.
ونحن نعتقد أن مملكة البحرين قد وضعت موضع التنفيذ 176 توصية التي قدمت إليها خلال الاستعراض الفصلي الشامل الثاني وذلك بعد الدراسة والتشاور المتأنيين، ويسرها قبول 145 منهم بالكامل بالإضافة إلى 13 توصية بصفة جزئية. كما هو مفصل في وثيقة ردنا، وهي أمور تتصل أساسا بقضايا العدالة الجنائية ومنع التعذيب وحقوق المرأة؛ وحماية الأطفال والأقليات والتصديق على المعاهدات الدولية ومكافحة الاتجار بالبشر وتنفيذ توصيات لجنة تقصي الحقائق والنتائج التي توصلنا إليها عبر الحوار الوطني، وسوف نقدم إلى المجلس تقريرا طوعيا مؤقتا وذلك قبل الاستعراض الدوري الشامل المقبل.

سيداتي وسادتي:

تعد سيادة القانون شرط أساسي لقيام مجتمع يحترم حقوق الإنسان و يقتضي احترام المؤسسات الوطنية والعمليات الدستورية ورفض كل أساليب القوة المفرطة والعنف والتخريب بشكل لا لبس فيه.

إن أفعالنا أقدر من كلماتنا على تبديد أي شكوك بشأن التزام حكومة بلدي بتعزيز حقوق الإنسان من خلال سيادة القانون، بيد أن الحكومة ليست إلا طرف من بين الأطراف الفاعلة، بحيث لا يمكنها أن تقوم بذلك بمفردها، وإنما على جميع شرائح المجتمع أن تلعب دورا بناء، ولذلك يسرني أن أرى الكثير من البحرينيين يتواجدون معنا في هذه القاعة اليوم كما يسرني أن أطلب من كل واحد منكم المشاركة البناءة، و الالتزام بالحوار منهجا وأسلوبا ، وليس الدعاية.

انه لمن حق كل شخص أن يختلف مع حكومته أو يعارضها وأن يصدح بالاختلاف أو المعارضة علنا على أن يكون ذلك، بطبيعة الحال، في حدود خطاب المجتمع الديمقراطي المنظم ، ولكن ليس من حق أي كان أن يفرض الطائفية على مجتمع رغم أنفه و ضد إرادته – نرحب بالتعبير السلمي عن الخلاف، ولا نقبل بالتحريض على الكراهية أو العنف الذي من شأنه أن يضر بالنسيج الاجتماعي للأمة.

نحن لا نتهرب من المبادرات الجريئة، لقد قمنا بإصلاحات غير مسبوقة و قدمنا إيجازا بعدد منها إلى المجلس في شهر مايو، ونحن ممتنون بكل ما تلقيناه من دعم.

ولأسوق لكم بعض الأمثلة البارزة على ما قمنا به تماشيا مع توصيات لجنة تقصي الحقائق منذ الدورة الماضية للمجلس، لكم ما يلي:

– أنشأنا وحدة التحقيق الخاصة و هي وحدة ترجع بالنظر وتقدم التقارير إلى النائب العام، للتحقيق في حالات إساءة السلوك من قبل الشرطة ومساءلة المتورطين، وقد قامت هذه الوحدة خلال الأشهر الثلاثة الأولى من إنشائها، بالتحقيق مع العشرات من أفراد الشرطة بجميع درجاتهم والمسؤوليات المحاطة بعاتقهم . وقد تمت الملاحقة القانونية في حق 23 من مسئولي الأمن، ما أسفر حتى الآن عن 3 إدانات وأحكام، وستقوم الوحدة بالعمل تزامناً مع الأمين العام للتظلمات الذي تم تعينه مؤخرا.

– تم تحديد وظائف أمين المظالم بجهاز الأمن الوطني – كما هو منصوص عليه بالفعل بجهاز الشرطة.

– صرفت الحكومة 2.6 مليون دولار أمريكي إلى أسر الضحايا المتوفين الذين وردت أسمائهم بتقرير اللجنة المستقلة لتقصي الحقائق، وخصصت 3 ملايين أخرى للمرحلة المقبلة من التعويضات للضحايا.

– أعدت الحكومة مشروع قانون جديد من شأنه تحسين حماية العمال استنادا إلى مبادئ عدم التمييز والمفاوضات المشتركة.

– وفي الأسبوع الماضي الموافق 12 سبتمبر، صدر أمر ملكي يلزم المؤسسة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان بالامتثال لمبادئ باريس.

– وفي يوم الاثنين من هذا الأسبوع، تم تعيين 500 ضابط شرطة جدد من جميع شرائح المجتمع بجهاز الشرطة كجزء من استمرار السياسة الشمولية كأولوية أساسية.

– تم تعديل تعريف التعذيب في قانون العقوبات وتوسيع الحماية في مجال حرية التعبير وذلك في تناغم مع القانون الدولي.
وفي إطار جامعة الدول العربية، نسعى سعيا حثيثا إلى تنفيذ مقترح جلالة ملك البحرين بإنشاء المحكمة العربية لحقوق الإنسان لترقى إلى مصاف المحاكم الدولية الكبرى في أوروبا والأمريكيتين وأفريقيا.

والأكثر من ذلك، لا يكاد يمر أسبوع دون محاولة تنشيط الحوار حيث دعا جلالة الملك مرارا وتكرارا إلى الحوار، كما ان مجلس الوزراء على أهبة الاستعداد لمناقشة مجموعة واسعة من القضايا المطروحة وأن وزير العدل والشئون الإسلامية والأوقاف يلعب دوراً قياديا في بلورة رأي جميع الجمعيات السياسية فيما يتعلق بتفعيل الحوار السياسي.

وأؤكد أنه لا يوجد حد لجهودنا الرامية إلى إحداث تغير إيجابي دائم على وضع حقوق الإنسان في البحرين.

أنتقل الآن إلى التحديات التي نواجهها. لقد سمعت انتقادات مفادها أننا “متثاقلين”، صحيح أن هناك تحديات كبيرة لا تزال قائمة مثل ضرورة إصلاح الهياكل الحكومية وإحياء ثقافة التسامح والتفاهم في جميع جوانب الحياة المدنية وهي أمور صعبة يستغرق تحقيقها حيزا من الزمن ولكن تلاقي التزاما من قبل قيادتنا وقد أصبحت الآن آثار الإصلاحات الكبيرة واقعا ملموسا لدينا.

فضلا عن التحديات المتأتية من خارج الحكومة، للأسف لا يزال البعض يعتقد بأنهم سيجنون من خلال استمرار الاحتجاجات في الشارع فوائد سياسية. ولكي يحافظون على استمرار الزخم والتغطية الإعلامية لأنشطتهم، عليهم مواصلة إشعال نيران التطرف والعنف والعزوف عن الحوار، وهؤلاء لا ينبغي تشجيعهم بتاتاً.

اسمحوا لي أن أذكر ببعض الحقائق التي يمكن إثباتها.

في الأشهر الثلاثة التي تلت شهر مايو من هذا العام، سجلنا 7356 حادثة حرق لإطارات السيارات ضمن محاولات متكررة لعرقلة حركة المرور وشل بلدنا الصغير بسد شرايينه الرئيسية ، ما تسبب في أضرار هائلة طالت اقتصادنا ومعيشة مواطنينا، وعثرت الشرطة على الآلاف من قنابل المولوتوف، وبلغ المواطنون العاديون عن 1470 حالة من حالات التخريب.

وخلال التسعين يوما نفسها، أصيب 91 من أفراد الشرطة بجروح استدعت تلقيهم العلاج بالمستشفى، ليرتفع العدد الإجمالي للمصابين من أفراد الشرطة إلى 456 فردا، و كانت من بين تلك الإصابات 52 حالة على قدر كاف من الخطورة لإعاقة الضحايا عن مواصلة الخدمة وما هذه الأرقام إلا نتيجة مباشرة للأوامر التي صدرت عن الحكومة بضرورة عدم استخدام القوة إلا في حالة الضرورة القصوى – و يمكن للشرطة في هذا الصدد أن يفخروا بما تحلوا به من ضبط النفس.
و في 8 يونيو، توفي طالب يبلغ من العمر ثمانية عشر سنة بمدرسة ثانوية نتيجة انفجار قنبلة محلية الصنع أثناء محاولته إزالة إطارات تم حرقها في الشوارع بالقرب من منزله.

و يرقد في المستشفى منذ السابع من شهر أغسطس شرطي مصاب بحروق شديدة وهو الآن يصارع من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة.

وهاجم 150 رجل ملثما في 23 أغسطس مركزا للشرطة بسترة بوابل من قنابل المولوتوف …و القائمة المروعة تطول.

لا يمكن لأحد أن يتصور بلورة نظام سياسي جامع و متسامح في ظل سعي قيادات تنظيمات سياسية هامة للهيمنة بدلا من اللجوء للحوار وفي ضل رفضها للمؤسسات الديمقراطية.

يحب أن نعلنها بشديد الوضوحٍ أن مثل هذه الممارسات تعد دوسا على مثل مجتمع يحتكم لسيادة القانون. لقد أطلقت الحكومة، من جانبها، عدد من المبادرات لبدء الحوار الوطني الشامل، كما أنه من متطلبات المصالحة الوطنية أن يسارع الكل إلى طاولة المفاوضات: ومن الطبيعي، عندها، أن يدين كل شخص جاد في الحوار كل أشكال العنف وبدون شروط مسبقة.

على كل أطياف المجتمع المشاركة في هذا الحوار وعلى كل المجموعات و التنظيمات التي لها طموحات سياسية أن تتخلى عن سياسة الاحتكام للشارع و تمضي إلى ممارسة السياسة من خلال طاولة المفاوضات. وفي الواقع، إن من الأنجع لجميع الأطراف هو التعاون فيما بينها والعمل معاً.

ومن جانب الحكومة، فقد بادرت بإطلاق الحوار الوطني الشامل – وفى الحقيقية، قام وزير العدل والشئون الإسلامية والأوقاف خلال هذا الأسبوع باجتماعات مع عددٍ من الجمعيات السياسية.

ويطيب لي أن استغل هذه الفرصة لأتقدم بالشكر الجزيل للدول الأعضاء والمفوضية العليا لحقوق الإنسان لما قدموه لنا من مساعدات و مؤازرة جهودنا الرامية إلى تطبيق أعلى المعايير في مجال احترام حقوق الإنسان، متطلعين إلى الاستفادة من خبراتهم في هذا المجال، حيث أننا جميعا متفقون على المبادئ الأساسية، المتمثلة في حرية التعبير والمعاملة العادلة للمتهمين والمدانين بارتكاب الجرائم، و يمكن لأي شخص من الذين هم على دراية بحقيقة الوضع في البحرين أن يدرك بأن المعارضة لا تقتصر على ألأصوات الناقدة بالخارج فقط. بل على العكس من ذلك- إن أكثر الأصوات الناقدة تطرفا، تصدر باستمرار من داخل البحرين وهو الأمر الذي لا تسمح به كثير من البلدان الأخرى.

بالطبع، إننا سعداء بتقبل النصيحة المخلصة، كما برهنا على ذلك في قبولنا بما يزيد عن 90% من توصيات مجلسكم الموقر، بما فيها الموافقة على دراسة التصديق على البروتوكول الإضافي لمناهضة التعذيب.

وبهذه الروح وبالمشاركة البناءة، ننتظر منكم مدنا بأية ملاحظات أو مرئيات إضافية. وشكراً.

Madame President
Madame High Commissioner
Excellencies

Distinguished Participants:

I am here to reaffirm the Kingdom of Bahrain’s commitment to the cause of universal human rights and to this Council. My Government has consistently upheld these commitments: through persistent efforts aimed at cultivating a pluralistic Bahraini society – and through co-operation with this august Council. My Government shares the High Commissioner’s vision of ensuring human rights for all. We welcome engagement with all stakeholders.

We believe we have put to good use the 176 recommendations received at Bahrain’s second Universal Periodic Review. After careful deliberation and consultation, the Government of Bahrain is pleased to fully accept 145 of them and partially accept 13 more. As detailed in our response paper, these mainly relate to: criminal justice issues; prevention of torture; rights of women; protection of children and minorities; ratification of international treaties; the fight against human trafficking; and implementing BICI recommendations and findings of our National Dialogue. We will voluntarily provide an interim report to the Council prior to the next UPR.

Ladies and Gentlemen:

The rule of law is the essential condition of a society that respects human rights. The rule of law presumes respect for national institutions and constitutional processes – and unequivocally rejects the methods of excessive force, violence and sabotage.

Our actions, more than our words, should dispel any doubts regarding my Government’s commitment to upholding human rights through the rule of law. But the Government is only one actor. It cannot do it alone – all segments of society need to play a constructive role. And so I am pleased that many Bahrainis are in the gallery today. I extend a hand of constructive engagement to each of you. Let us follow the path of dialogue, not propaganda.

Every person has the right to disagree with, or dissent from, their Government, and to state that disagreement or dissent publicly – and of course within the limits of orderly discourse in a democratic society. But no one has the right to force factionalism upon a society against its will. We welcome peaceful expressions of disagreement, but not incitements to hatred and violence which damage the social fabric of a nation.

We do not shirk from bold initiatives. We have undertaken unprecedented reforms. A number of these were outlined to the Council in May, and we are grateful for the expressions of support that we received.

To give some salient examples since the last Council session, in line with the BICI recommendations:
• We have established a Special Investigations Unit, reporting to the Attorney General, to investigate police misconduct in order to achieve accountability. In the three months of its existence, this Unit has investigated scores of police personnel at all levels of responsibility. 23 prosecutions of security officials have been initiated and so far these have resulted in 3 convictions and sentences. The Unit will work in conjunction with the recently appointed independent police ombudsman.
• Ombudsman functions have been set up within the National Security Agency – as already exist in the police.
• The Government has paid 2.6 million US dollars to the families of 17 deceased victims mentioned in the BICI Report. The Government has allotted a further 3 million US dollars for the next phase of compensation for victims.
• The Government has prepared a new draft labor law improving the protection of workers, based on the principles of non-discrimination and collective bargaining.
• Last week, on the 12th of September, a Royal Order was enacted bringing the National Human Rights Institution into compliance with the Paris Principles.
• As a fundamental priority, on Monday this week, 500 new police officers from all segments of society have been inducted into the police force as part of a continuing policy of inclusiveness.
• We have amended the definition of torture in our penal code and expanded the protections for freedom of expression to bring them into accord with international law.
• Within the framework of the Arab League, we are actively pursuing His Majesty the King of Bahrain’s proposal to establish an Arab Court of Human Rights comparable to the great international courts of Europe, the Americas and Africa.

And above all, not a week goes by without our trying to activate dialogue. His Majesty has repeatedly called for dialogue. The Cabinet stands ready to discuss a wide range of issues. The Minister of Justice is leading the way in canvassing opinion from all political societies regarding activating a political dialogue.

I emphasize that there is no limit on our effort to bring about positive, lasting change in the human rights situation in Bahrain.

I now turn to the challenges we face. We have heard criticism: that we are “dragging our feet”. It is true that significant challenges remain. Reforming government structures and restoring the culture of tolerance and understanding in all aspects of civic life takes time. It is difficult. Our leadership is committed, and already significant effects of our reforms are being felt.

Challenges also reside outside of government. Some, unfortunately believe that continued unrest on the street affords them a political advantage. To keep up the momentum and media coverage, they fuel the flames of extremism and violence. They reject dialogue. They should not be encouraged.

Allow me to mention some verifiable facts.

In the three months following May of this year, there were 7,356 instances of tyre-burning in repeated attempts to paralyze our small country by blocking main traffic arteries, causing substantial damage to our economy and to the livelihood of our citizens. The police recovered thousands of Molotov cocktails. Private citizens reported 1,470 cases of vandalism.

Also over the same 90 days, 91 police personnel suffered injuries requiring hospital treatment, bringing this year’s total up to 456, of which 52 were injured seriously enough to be rendered invalid. These figures are a direct consequence of the Government’s orders to use force only in the most extreme of circumstances – the police can justly be proud of this restraint.

On the 8th of June, an eighteen-year-old high school student died as a result of a homemade bomb explosion as he tried to remove burning tyres from the streets near his home.

Since the 7thof August, a severely burned policeman is in hospital fighting for his life.

On the 23rd of August, 150 masked men attacked the Sitra Police Station with a barrage of Molotov cocktails.

This appalling list could go on.

[TWO SECOND PAUSE FOR EFFECT.]

No one could expect that an inclusive and tolerant system of politics will emerge if leaders of important groups seek dominance instead of dialogue and reject democratic institutions. Such attitudes, it must be said firmly, trample on the ideals of a society governed by the rule of law. The Government has put into place a number of participatory schemes to jumpstart a national dialogue. Reconciliation requires everyone to come to the table: surely it is right to demand that everyone serious about the issue should unconditionally condemn all violence.

All parts of society should join in. All groups with political aspirations should move away from the politics of the street to the politics of the table. In the real world, what works is co-operation. For the Government’s part, we have been proactive about convening inclusive dialogue – in fact, the Minister of Justice has been in meetings with political societies as recently as this week.
*
We thank fellow member States and the Office of the High Commissioner for assisting us in our efforts to follow the highest standards of respect for human rights, and look forward to benefiting from their assistance. We all agree on the fundamental principles, which are free speech and fair treatment of those accused and convicted of crimes. Anyone who knows the reality of the situation in Bahrain can certify that our opposition is not limited to voices speaking from abroad. Far from it – the most extreme criticism is voiced continuously within Bahrain, beyond what is tolerated, it seems, in other countries.

Of course, we are pleased to take advantage of sincerely offered advice, as proved by our acceptance of 90% of your recommendations, including considering ratification of the Optional Protocol of the Convention against Torture. It is in this spirit of constructive engagement that I now await your further observations.

Thank you.