تعتبر حقوق الإنسان المبدأ التوجيهي والمسؤولية التي يجب أن يشترك بها كل من الحكومة والجمعيات الأهلية والأفراد على حد سواء.

في هذا العصر الذي يتسم بديناميكية التغيير فان مملكة البحرين سعت لتنفيذ القرارات النوعية على جوانب المفاهيم والمبادئ والآليات الخاصة بحقوق الإنسان. حماية حقوق الفرد هي أولوية قصوى تتطلب منا للاستثمار في كافة الوسائل والموارد الممكنة لحماية الحياة والكرامة وتوفير جميع المتطلبات الأساسية لتعزيز أسس مجتمعنا.

لقد كان تركيزنا هو بناء الدولة الحديثة التي ترحب بالرقي والتقدم في المجتمع. كما تم تجسيد هذه الفكرة في الرؤية الاقتصادية لعام 2030 ، والتي تهدف إلى تحقيق اكبر الانجازات الممكنة على المستويات الاقتصادية والحكومية والاجتماعية. سوف تتجلى هذه الرؤية من خلال تطوير الفرد والذي يعتبر الركيزة التي يتعمد عليها لتأسيس ازدهار الدولة.

تنفيذ هذا التقرير المرحلي يلخص تطبيق توصيات الاستعراض الدوري الشامل والالتزامات الطوعية والتعهدات التي طبقتها البحرين لعام 2010 ويمثل معالم وإنجازات العامين الماضيين، ومع ذلك سوف تستمر جهودنا بعد عام 2012 وهو موعد الاستعراض الدوري الشامل القادم. رؤيتنا ستترك أثرها على الجيل القادم الذي سوف يعيش الرحلة التي قطعناها نحو غد أفضل.

Human Rights are a guiding principle and a responsibility that must be shared by the Government, civil societies and individuals alike.

In this dynamic era of change, the Kingdom of Bahrain has endeavoured to implement qualitative decisions on aspects of human rights concepts, principles and mechanisms. Protecting the rights of the individual is a prime priority that has required us to invest in all possible means and resources to safeguard life, dignity and provide all basic requirements to strengthen the foundations of our community.

Our focus has been to build a modern State that welcomes advancement and progress of society. The same view has also been embodied in Bahrain’s 2030 Economic Vision, which aims to achieve the utmost at the economic, Governmental and social levels. This vision will be manifested through the development of the individual, who is by all respects, the pillar on which the prosperity of the State would be founded.

This Progress Report summarizesthe implementation of Bahrain’s UPR recommendations, voluntary commitments and pledges for 2010. It represents the milestones and achievements of the past two years. However, our efforts will continue beyond 2012, when the next Universal Periodic Review is due. Our vision is to impact the next generation who will remember the genesis of a journey towards a better tomorrow.